Our Faculty

Our School Leaders

P.L. de Avila

Head of School

“I believe in Stratford’s emphasis on not only academics, but the importance of character development and community spirit.”

P.L. de Avila joins Stratford School Mission Viejo as the Head of School through our partnership with Carden Academy. P.L. has been the Director of Carden Academy in Mission Viejo since 2000.

P.L. believes this partnership will allow our students and staff opportunities that we have not yet been able to provide.

She feels that Stratford and Carden Academy are closely matched in philosophy, not just in curriculum, but in the importance placed on character development and community spirit.


Shellie Collins

Director of Upper School

“I have a passion for learning.”

Shellie Collins joins Stratford School Mission Viejo through our partnership with Carden Academy. She believes in an educational foundation where curriculum and character are equally emphasized. She knows the importance of developing the whole child. In her role as curriculum director at Carden, she mentored numerous new and experienced teachers in an encouraging and supportive way that empowers them to believe in their ability and potential growth. Her open-door policy and ready smile make her an accessible resource for the entire staff.

As Assistant Director, Shellie supports the Director in all aspects of running the school and is acting Director in her absence. In this role, by creating meaningful student and parent relationships, Shellie continues to honor her love of family and children that started when she, as a young girl, recognized this is the key to a healthy and happy development.


Sarah Asay

Director of Lower School

It is with great enthusiasm that Sarah Asay returns to Stratford’s Mission Viejo Campus. In the education field for over twenty years, Ms. Asay is excited to work in partnership with our amazing parents, students, and staff. Her passion for education and developing lifelong learners is something that she works hard to pass along to her students. She looks forward to making the new school year a successful experience for all. Her office door is always open.


Our Faculty

Pooja Basrur

Kindergarten Teacher

Alex Bekken

6th Grade Teacher

Sanida Dokovic

2nd Grade Teacher

Natalie Ferreira

Pre-Kindergarten Teacher

Yoselin Godoy

Middle School Math Teacher

Toni Gonzales

2nd Grade Teacher

Mary-Ann Henry

7th Grade

Christie Hobson

5th Grade Teacher

Megan Jin

8th Grade and Middle School Science Teacher

Angela Ko

1st Grade Teacher

Sophie Leong

Kindergarten Teacher

Ted Mansour

PE Teacher

Roseanne McCann

Pre-Kindergarten Teacher

Schehera McKasson

Music Teacher

Lesley Mills

3rd Grade Teacher

Lesley Morrison

Middle School History Teacher

Izabela Mrowka

Preschool Teacher

Matt Ormond

Computer Science Teacher

Raechel Young

4th Grade Teacher